Semaine de la critique

_home > _the 50th anniversary


If this anniversary gives us the opportunity to pay tribute to all the directors who have made their debut at La Semaine de la Critique and to continue to bet on young talents who, as we hope, will become tomorrow’s great filmmakers, we decided to honor a couple of them.

Our guests will be attending special events in Cannes.


Lee Chang-dong, President of the Jury of the Nespresso Grand Prize for La Semaine de la Critique

Lee Chang-dong made his directorial debut with Green Fish (1996). His second feature, Peppermint Candy (2000) received many awards. His third film, Oasis won the Best Director Award at the 2002 Venice Film Festival and was presented at La Semaine de la Critique in 2003 as part of the Fipresci discovery screening series. After stepping down as the Minister of Culture and Tourism in South Korea, he directed Secret Sunshine, which won the Award for Best Actress at the 2007 Cannes Film Festival and Poetry, which won the Award for Best Screenplay at the 2010 Cannes Film Festival.

Jerzy Skolimowski, President of the Jury of the Kodak Discovery Award for Short Film

Jerzy Skolimowski wrote the screenplays for Roman Polanski’s Knife in the Water and Andrzej Wajda’s Innocent Sorcerers. His first breakthrough as a director was at the 1965 Semaine de la Critique with Walkover. His directing credits include, The Departure (Golden Bear at the 1967 Berlinale), Deep End (1971), The Shout (1978), Hands Up! (1981) and Moonlighting (1982). After a 17-year break, he shot Four Nights with Anna (2008) and Essential Killing (Special Jury Prize at the 2010 Venice International Fim Festival)

Semaine de la Critique - Syndicat Français de la Critique © 2017    
Tumbler Youtube Twitter Facebook