Semaine de la critique

_home > _2012 edition

Special Guests

Bertrand Bonello

Bertrand Bonello, President of the Jury for the Nespresso Grand Prize for La Semaine de la CritiquE

Bertrand Bonello is the creator of surprisingly detailed and comprehensive work, which includes five feature films. He returns to La Semaine de la Critique after having presented The Pornographer in 2001 and winning the FIPRESCI Prize. He confirms his inimitable style with Tiresia which was in Competition at the 2003 Cannes Film Festival, then again with On War at the 2008 Directors’ Fortnight. With House of Tolerance in Competition at the 2011 Cannes Film Festival, he presented the international audience with one of the most beautiful films ever about the woman’s body.

João Pedro Rodrigues

João Pedro Rodrigues, President of the Jury for the Nikon Discovery Award for Short Film

João Pedro Rodrigues is the greatest discovery out of Portuguese cinema within the last few years. He’s most promising and most innovative in his work which explores confused sexual identities. First discovered at the 1997 Mostra de Venise with his short Parabéns ! then his feature O Fantasma in 2001, he followed these with Odete, presented at the 2005 Directors’ Fortnight which won the Cinémas de recherche Prize. In 2009, he directed To Die Like a Man, a drama about transvestites in Lisboa presented at Un Certain Regard (Cannes Film Festival).

João Pedro Rodrigues

Céline Sciamma, President of the France 4 Visionary Jury for La Semaine de la Critique 

Céline Sciamma studied screenwriting at the Fémis film school. She decided to shoot her graduation script in 2006. Praised by the critics, Water Lilies, her directorial debut, was selected by Un Certain Regard for the 2007 Cannes Film Festival and won the Louis-Delluc Award for Best First Feature Film. Tomboy, her second feature, was the Opening Film at the Panorama at the 2011 Berlinale and continues a renown career all around the world.

To see the Godfathers of our past editions, go to our Archives


Semaine de la Critique - Syndicat Français de la Critique © 2017    
Tumbler Youtube Twitter Facebook